The original twelve Amendments to the
United States Constitution.

​​1st Amendment:
The 5 freedoms: speech, press, religion, assembly, petition

2nd Amendment: Right to bear arms (to protect the people against a government that becomes too powerful.)

3rd Amendment: No quartering of soldiers.

4th Amendment: No unreasonable searches and seizures without a warrant; right to privacy
5th Amendment: Due process, eminent domain, no double jeopardy, right to remain silent (you can’t be forced to testify against yourself) and the right to be tried by a grand jury for a capital offense.

6th Amendment: Right to a speedy trial

7th Amendment: Right to a trial by a jury of your peers; no lawsuits under $20

8th Amendment: No cruel and unusual punishment

9th Amendment: Any rights not explicitly listed are automatically given to the people. (Meant to appease the Anti-Federalists)

10th Amendment: Any powers not explicitly listed are automatically given to the states.

11th Amendment: When states sue other states, it automatically goes before the Supreme Court. Residents of one state cannot sue another state. Another country can’t sue the US and vice verse.

12th Amendment: Creates a ticket for the presidency where the president and VP are elected together.


13th Amendment: Abolishes slavery and gives congress the power to enforce abolition through legislation.

14th Amendment: Defines citizens as people born in the US and prohibits the states from denying due process and equal protection under the law. Also states that the value of the debt must always be paid and honored, and cannot be questioned. Also excludes women from voting.

15th Amendment: Voting rights will not be based on race

16th Amendment: Establishes an Income Tax

17th Amendment: Direct election of senators

18th Amendment: Prohibition

19th Amendment: Woman’s Suffrage

20th Amendment: Shortens the lame duck period by moving
​the presidential inauguration from March to January

21st Amendment: Ends the Prohibition by repealing the
​18th Amendment

22nd Amendment: Limits the President to two terms in office

23rd Amendment: Washington DC is NOT a state, but gets
​3 electoral votes

24th Amendment: Outlaws poll taxes

25th Amendment: Outlines the direct line of succession for the presidency

26th Amendment: Lowers the voting age to 18

27th Amendment: Congress can’t give itself a pay raise

                            Click on the Flag to go to the top.​
Amendments to the            Constitution